Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
kayak fishing in AZ?
HI - Im interviewing for a job in phoenix and have never been to the area. I currently live in Florida and fish the flats in my kayak. I was just wondering what kind of fishing opportunities are there in that area? Does anyone kayak fish. PS Im just getting into flyfishing, the new rod and reel are at the post office waiting to be picked up. Happy Friday to meSmile

Thanks for any info.
[signature]
Hi Kayakfisher,
Well, needless to say, but the Phoenix area and Arizona are quite different then Florida, but there are plenty of fishing opportunities. I would venture to say that on average, fishing in Florida is more productive then here, but you never know. I don't fish out of a kayak but fish out of a bass boat, float tube and canoe. There are a number of desert lakes in the Phoenix area that hold a variety of fish (largemouth, small mouth, walleye, white bass, yellow bass, crappie, etc). In southern Az, there are a number of smaller lakes that are in high desert surroundings and perfect for a kayak. In the mountains (Mogollon Rim and White Mtns) there are a number of lakes in a cooler climate. Depending on the elevation 6000-8000ft, you will find largemouth, smallmouth, walleye and a variety of trout species. Folks will kayak a number of areas along the Colorado river on the western side of the state as well. Then of course, there is lake Powell on the Az, Utah border. For me, I think that Canyon lake is a nice local kayaking lake and you can get back into Boulder Canyon, which is non motorized only and fish for some nice LM. Hope this helps.
Mark
[signature]
Thanks for your reply Bassnut. Don't know if I have the job yet, but it sounds like I'll have plenty of fishing to do if I get it[Smile]
[signature]