Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hook/Lure for panfish?
I'm new to fishing and I'm trying to concentrate on panfishing. Any panfishing advice would be great as I'm looking to have a good time. I will be on a rowboat on a large lake.

This is a really stupid question, but I can't find anything on the net or youtube on how to properly put a hook in soft plastics such as the 3" tiny ika. I would think to put the hook coming out near the tail, but I've seen videos *not tutorials* of people having the hook come out mid body.

Is there a rule of thumb on size of a lure for the size of the hook? Right now I have Eagle Claw size 4,6, and 10 hooks that are labeled for panfish and for lures I have 2" curly tail grub and 3" tiny ika.

This weekend I will be going to the sporting goods shop and I want to go in with my war face and know exactly what I should be matching hooks/jigheads with lures.

Do you recommend Texas Rigging? Would I need a wide gap for that?
[signature]
You need to take into account the size of the mouth of the fish you are targeting and how they feed. Some fish take their prey head on, other types attack from behind.

I'm not sure about Wacky rigging (texas style) worms, I would think that would be too much bait.

Alot of my experience with Perch is through ice fishing and I always caught them on jigs or bugs that were much smaller than I though I would need. Gill's should be easy to catch, they'll eat anything. When fishing for Crappie think of them as stunted less aggressive bass, same types of things work.

I'm sure some more experienced pan fish guys can chime in with some more detailed assistance.
[signature]