Fishing Forum
Bullfrogs article - Printable Version

+- Fishing Forum (https://bigfishtackle.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Utah Fishing Forum (https://bigfishtackle.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=386)
+--- Forum: Utah Fishing General (https://bigfishtackle.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Thread: Bullfrogs article (/showthread.php?tid=1102934)

Pages: 1 2

Bullfrogs article - TubeDude - 03-02-2023

Snagged this article on bullfrogs on Yahoo this morning.  Though it might be of interest to some.  I have been nibbling on frog legs for many decades and there are now a few places in Utah where you might get the fixin's.

[Image: BFROG.jpg]
See the attachment.

RE: Bullfrogs article - Therapist - 03-02-2023

Frogs are a great indicator of the health of the aquatic environment. Utah Lake "used" to have a very large population of frogs. Several old timers that I knew, talked about the frog migration in the Spring to the lake from surrounding areas. This was their signal that the walleye were going to be moving in to the shorelines to spawn and feed on the frogs. Unfortunately in all my time on Utah Lake I have never seen a frog. Only place I have ever seen one was in the ponds by Goshen ( also where you can see Lightening bugs !!). So having bullfrogs around the marshes is interesting. Not going to spend a lot of time pursuing them however. By they way, a headlamp and gig are the best ways to catch them !!

RE: Bullfrogs article - SkunkedAgain - 03-02-2023

Last summer I had hundreds of the leopard frogs in my irrigation pond. Haven't seen frogs like that since I was a kid... Too bad my pond mostly went dry over the summer... wonder if any will return this year? I'm thinking with all this snow, my pond may fill this year for the first time in 3 years... Hope it does... Later Jeff

I tend to agree with the therapist, use the gig and forget the fishing pole if you're after the frogs and you'll probably have to go out at night to find them...