Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Vexilar vs. LCD?
Hi folks-

I'm back for more help. I fished with a Vexilar FL-18 over the weekend and I'm wondering whether you can tell the relative size of a fish that shows up on the display by the width of the signal on the flasher dial. With my
X75 LCD screen, I can look at a blip on the screen and estimate whether
the fish is tiny, huge, or somewhere in between, just from the size of the blip. Does the same principle apply to the Vexilar flasher?

Thanks.

Don
The heavier the line the bigger the fish.
[signature]
HFT, where are you getting that info? Not that I doubt you, I have been using my vexilar for 3 years and all my the red lines are the same width. As I change to a deeper "mode", the lines get smaller or more compact. I'll watch a little closer next time I go out, but I've had several fish come in at the same time and the lines are the same, when they congregate at the hook, they turn into one large line. When I had a school of perch show up at rockport, the line was 10 feet thick on the screen. Schools of kokanee at causey near the surface show individual fish, but all are the same width. I was just reading my manuel and it does not indicate you can tell size by width of the band.
[signature]