Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
newbie just ordered an Outcast Cougar
Hi Everyone, 1st post here.
I just ordered a Outcast Cougar and am trying to determine how I should set it up.
I will mainly flyfish the Yakima river here in WA state for trout.
I have never used a toon before so am unclear of what attachments I should get before my 1st trip. Anchors for Class 1 rivers? Rod holders? Net holder? Bags? Apron? Other?
Should I order them from Outcast or are there better products out there? Recommendations please.

Maybe there are some other cougar owners out there who can tell me what they have.

I have spent hours reading thru this website and have gotten much info. Thanks!!! Rick
[signature]
[#005000]Welcome Ric,

You are going to love your new ride when you get it. There are a bazillion ways to customize it. You can check out some of them on this board in the picture section.

For your first trip, you need oars and your fly rod and a couple of flies. If this is your first pontoon, as it seems you indicate, you should concentrate on your boat handleing skills. Let fishing be incidental on your maiden voyage.

I would also suggest a trial run or two of any anchoring you want to attempt in moving water - preferably slow and shallow water. In a raft, there are a lot of things that require your attention while in any class of water - those are the things you should become familiar with prior to attempting any serious fishing or catching.

As you get some miles on the water, you'll discover the things you really need or want to outfit your toon with. After all, on your first trip ever, the very maiden voyage of your craft. it would be a shame to scuttle all of your stuff because some thing important slipped through the cracks - so to speak. It this case, less is definitly more.