Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Here fishy, fishy
[font "Arial Narrow"][#008000][size 4][cool]What is the saying "15% of the water holds 85% of the fish" or something like that. So in the pictures below where you just arrived, to what number would you make your first cast?[/size][/#008000][/font] [inline wtf.jpg]
[signature]
I have said it before, I start off as close to me as I can and work my way across. Don't scare all the fish away that way.
So probably #6 to #7 to #9, #10...then 5, 4, 3, 2, 1.
By casting to the other side right off the bat, you will spook the fish in the middle and right in-front of you. I know everyone casts to that over hang on the other side, but there are fish all over.
[signature]
6 - 10- 2.. looks to me like all will allow your fly to drift down stream naturally..

MacFly
[signature]
hehehe at least I got the 6 right.. and my 2 was earlier.. but Im still learning.. [cool]

MacFly [cool]
[signature]
it has always been my understanding that a good way to do things.. is to cast up river and let the fly drift..

I agree or at least see your point on starting close and then casting further out.. but if you are allowing the fly to drift in the current wouldnt you be covering 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 in that drift??

MacFly [Smile]
[signature]
I am assuming 5 is straight in front of the ffer. I like to cast up and let it drift down as you mentioned, but also straight across and let it drift down along with down stream at time and concentrate on the retrieve more than the drift. Specially with woolly's or mudlers.
[signature]
hmmm so you are doing a high drift to a low drift.. and then straight down stream.. now.. when you cast downstream.. do you let extra line out.. or do you hold it in place and then retrieve.. ?? I would think that if you hold it in place and then retrieve it upstream you are going against the "natural flow" of things.. in which case wouldnt the fish notice that.. ??

MacFly [Smile]
[signature]