Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Bay Area (San Francisco) Pier Fishing help...
Hi everyone,

Im FINALLY getting back to saltwater fishing after about 10 years. Im a newb when it comes to pier fishing in the bay area and im looking for some pointers. Particularly the Pacifica Pier. Im looking for advice on what type of baits are best for the local fish....and since I havent fished for so long, whats a good type of saltwater spin reel. Thanks in advance!
[signature]
Welcome to Bigfishtackle and thanks for taking the time to register.

Pacifica Pier has been one of my favorite piers and probably the most productive on the California Coast.

You can find Barred Surf Perch, Calico Surf Perch, Red Tailed Surf Perch, Walleye Surf Perch and Silver Surf Perch. Tomcod and Jacksmelt will also play with your line while there but are not quite as good on the edibility scale. Sand Dabs are plentiful there and Leopard Sharks are a good evening treat.

You are best to bring 2 rods with you and rig them both differently for best results. Some of these fish like to hit closer to the bottom and some will hit higher up.

You can also find Sole, Flounder and Halibut around there during certain times of the year. Striped Bass will also cruise around and be carefull of the any Salmon in the area since they are currently off limits.

Some of the species can be caught on a high/low rig or even on a Sabiki or Lucky Lura type of rigging with small hooks and 2 to 4 ounce sinker depending on the current for the time of day.

If you can get sand crabs or sand worms they will work best for bait on the bigger perch. You can use mussel or clam meat for the smaller species and the big ones may hit it too.

If you can only take 1 rod, Okuma has many to choose from at really good prices on their combos.

You may want to look at your local sporting goods and ask if they have any Okuma. The warranty is top notch and the products are excellent.