Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Toon & Standing ?
[size 4]
[center][Image: oc-discovery-10ir-2.jpg]
[/size][font "Comic Sans MS"][#000000]I'm new to this whole Toon thing, And wanting to buy me a toon, So my simple question is: [/#000000][/font]
[font "Comic Sans MS"] How important to you is it to have the standing platform on a toon?[/font]
[font "Comic Sans MS"] I want to fish areas like: ie. Strawberry, East canyon, Bear lake for whites, Mantua, ... you'll notice all are resivors, BUT, I am new to the Toon thing, so maby I'll expand my thinking and take on many, many other waters as I get used to the Toon, and Its possiablities, Thus your openions are well taken to hart. "How important is it, to buy $ a Toon; with a standing platform?[/font]
[signature]
Depends on how well you cast sitting down. Most tooners that have a standing platform are fly casters, floating on a moving body of water, where being able to stand up gives them a better view of where to cast. It could be useful on still water, but overall, not that important as you are not trying to hit a specific spot. Most rigs can be adjusted so that a standing platform can be added at a later date.
If you stand you have no control over your boat. If you sit in the seat you can maintain position through the use of fins. Finning and standing are at odds with each other. It's one or the other. If I had to choose it would be fins over standing every time.

God Bless,
Don
[signature]
You can keep your fins on and stand on these boats. Usually you tweek the oars though while standing.

For the waters you mentioned, I don't see it being advantageous. It is a sight fishing plus. I have had several outings I would have LOVED to be up higher to see the fish.
They aren't just for moving water, I have several friends that use them on stillwater with strawberry being one. Casting into the weeds. Let the wind move you, can only get better.