Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
fishing rod
i am pretty new to fishing and i dont know much about rods. i have great luck using a weightless worm but also have some luck with cranks. i like to try different things but my two most common techniques is weightles worm and a jig so i was wondering what pole actions i want for example light medium or hard i think it goes and how long of a pole. idk much about it so i figure i would ask

thanks guys
[signature]
I think you should start out with a m/h 7' rod for cranking, and a 7'6" for flippin and jigin . Price range 75-90 dollars i have fishing for bass, walleye, north pike, stripe,hy bred for 36years. I go twice a week or more, just ask i will help. GOOD LUCK.
[signature]
I use a M/H for single hook baits like worms. Med/fast action for my cranking. Some makes are deceving as one med pole I have is stiff and a great worm rod as well.
[signature]
ok thank you guys very very much
[signature]
Crankbaits:

You can throw your cranks with a cheaper rod. I throw all high end stuff now, but I wouldn't mind throwing cranks with an Ugly Stik. A good crankbait rod should have a moderate or medium fast action. Rods with slower actions (like moderate or medium fast) will have some give to them so you're not ripping treble hooks out of the fishes' mouths. I like throwing crankbaits a long way, so I wouldn't get anything less than a 7' rod. As far as the power goes, you have to pick a lure range that suits you. Don't get a medium/heavy if you're going to be throwing 200 series Bandits most of the time, opt for the medium instead. If you're going to be throwing a lot of 1/2 oz crankbaits, get a medium/heavy.

Worm/Jig: