Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lake Mead 03/04
SKUNKFEST! What a nice day on the lake! Forgot my sunblock so now I am three shades of red from head to toe. Dropped in at boulder and we hit some of the typical spots on the way down to Govt wash. Light top water action in the coves, no love though. Didn't really even see any threadfin shad. Got down to the wash and there were about 10 boats down near the inlet, looked like a couple boats were doing okay out in the middle either dropping chovies or using live bait.

There was a ton of Gizzard shad jumping all over the place, big ones! At first I thought we were getting into a couple of good boils but after a few minutes i realized they were all gizzard. Is that normal? I have been fishing mead for well over two years and would see the occasional gizzard but not in mass quantities like Sunday. Either their population is taking off or I seriously have to quit drinking while i am fishing.

Also, i picked up a cast net on Saturday. Tossed it for about an hour with no love. Got it down pretty good so that is spreads evenly but i couldnt get a shad in it. Any suggestions on locations, times, or methods? Talked to a few other guys with nets that had no luck also but its always good to learn more.
[signature]
You might have seen me and my bro in the wash. We were in a 14ft aluminum, and we were pulling them in on anchovies on the bottom, and one trolling. Caught 5 total with the biggest being over 4 pounds and full of eggs. We saw the owner from Pro Tackle out there going for smallies but he said he had no luck. [inline DSCF1730.JPG]
[inline Image03042012162523.jpg][Smile]
[inline "Finepixloadedmarch5th 521.JPG"]
[signature]