Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Trolling questions
First off, I’m still a newbie to trolling. Bought a boat last year and still have a lot to learn. Here are my current questions.

1. What rod and reel do you recommend? I’m thinking about getting some level wind, line-counting reels but not sure which ones.

2. What line do you recommend? Mono, flourocarbon, braided, or lead core? I primarily fish Willard Bay but would like to be set up so I can try Bear Lake, Strawberry, Flamming Gorge, etc. Does a particular line work better for bottom bouncing and/or planner boards?

3. Planner boards, any tips with using braided line so that it will pop out of the first clip when a fish hits but stay in the clip during chopping waves? Any planner board lessons learned would be greatly appreciated.

4. Do you all prefer clip on weights, weighted line, bottom bouncers with the wires or something else to target fish towards the bottom of Willard?

I’m sure that there are a lot of other questions that I don’t even know to ask. If you have something you have learned to get me started in the right direction I would appreciate the advice.
[signature]
For line counter reels I run the Okuma cold water low profile, have friends the are using the new Daiwa LC’s but they are starting to have issues with the clickers and locking up the reel (same as earlier models it appears). I run 30# braid on all my reels with 50-100’ mono top shot depending on what I’m targeting connected to the braid with a reverse Albright knot ( for those reels that are not linecounters it gives me a known distance for setback. On planner boards my only experience with them is using them to pull plugs/spoons on the surface early and late season someone with more use will be better to answer those questions
[signature]
Wow that is a lot. Probably more productive to ask in different threads. I can take a single shot here though.

I have done quite a lot of trolling (my boat and others).