Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Bonneville Whitefish run is on 11/30/2019
Launched at the Utah State Park marina at 0830. I was the ONLY boat launching? I thought to myself, “what day is it?”. Yes, it’s Saturday and yes it’s the prime time for whitefish fishing. What the heck? Can’t believe there were no other boats. I took a total newbie today (New to fishing!) and she did great. We caught 17 WF and two decent cutthroat too. The fishing was excellent, weather was great too. Light snow but calm. We fished in 8-11’ of water using multiple colors of tube jigs and road runner jigs. Tipped with a small piece of Gulp worm. We also let another 3-4 small whitefish go. Nary one other person fishing and only one guy fishing from shore at the marina. On the way in we saw ONE other boat fishing just off the marina. Beautiful day, great fishing and awesome company. Where are the fishermen? Oh, we got about a foot of snow but the ramps were plowed to the pavement and the docks were even snowblowed-off!
Thanks Scott I’m going to play hooky one day this week and see if I can get a couple this year. Thanks for the report. Jeff
[signature]
Thanks Scott. I think the condition of the roads between our houses and Bear Lake scared us off. Will be there Tuesday and glad to hear the ramps are plowed.
[signature]
I too enjoyed the report. I will plan on coming up tomorrow. Thanks
[signature]
I got out again today and did even better. On Saturday most of the fish were smaller (16-17”) males. Today we still caught mostly males but they were larger and we also caught the first “ripe” female, whereas no females yesterday were expressing any eggs. Just gonna get better this entire week. I added several new pics to the original post. We picked up several (5-6?) nice cutthroat too. Today I caught at least 16 whitefish. I only kept one whitefish for dinner tonight. Gosh I love this time of year.
[signature]