Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pyrimid Lake anyone? Plus acctractant
Hi All, new here.

Does anyone here fish Pyramid Lake? I have some experience there, and I'd like to talk with others who do.

I have this idea for making an attractant ahead of a lure. It's a way to let me cast as far as possible at lakes.

I plan to use a medium sized Needlefish, with a fluorescent red egg-type sinker about 6 inches in front of it. If the lure's action is not right, I'd put the egg 12 inches in front.

I know I will have some casts that make the lure hook onto the line, so I will have to accept a certain number of foul casts.

I have the perfect place to do this at Pyramid, at a very steep dropoff right at the shore, plummeting down to 150 feet well within casting range. The fish at Pyramid hold from the surface down to 70 feet. Fore me, bringing a boat is expensive and a lot of trouble. The flyfishers prove you can catch fish at the surface. I haven't started doing that yet.
Welcome aboard Rogervan. I have fished Pyramid for many years. Sometimes from a boat, other times from a float tube and many times from shore.

I like to use casting bubbles from shore. You can fill as much liquid in the size that you choose and then apply your slightly weighted presentation that can slowly sink down to the level that you desire underwater.

I like to use a 1/16 to 1/8 oz micro jig. Yellow, Chartruese and even brown ones work well. They have a slow descent and get down to the zone on the thermocline. [fishon]
[signature]