Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
ice fishing
I live in Salt Lake City, UT and have fished rivers for years but new to ice fishing. I would love to go with someone a few times and learn from you. Jeff
[signature]
Welcome to the site Jeff, I'm going to move your post to our Utah board, so you can get other replies.
WH2
[signature]
PM me and I'll take you on a perch hunt or similar, Jeff. My schedule is a little erratic.
I usually have some time off, but little warning as to when. I'm no expert, but I usually get some.

You sound like you are right where I was about 12 years ago, when I decided to learn more and branch out. This is a great site for that.
[signature]
Jeff here. Thanks for the offer it would be great to get out. I went Sunday by myself to Pine View and caught a few perch but is was slow. When would you like to go? I have poles, an auger, sled, and an Eskimo 3 tent. Will need advice on what to fish with.

Jeff[reply][/reply]
[signature]
Welcome to BFT and glad you got out and found fish... Pretty good if you get fish on your first ice trip... well done... Later J
[signature]
Brand new into it and already this equipped?

Dude, you're set! Don't let being solo and knowing very little about ice fishing keep you from going out alone. If you learn on your own, you have an opportunity to discover tactics that others may not think about.

Fishing with others is a great learning tool as well, but be open to gaining some of that knowledge organically as well.

I'm no pro on ice, that's for sure (come on, spring), but some basics are to have and try a variety of types of plastic jigs (cut'r bugs, gizzilla, paddlebugs, tube jigs) in different colors (popular on ice: pink, white, neon green, glow, pearl, sand) and sizes.

Make sure to have some bait to tip with: meal worms, wax worms, other grubs, minnows, cut bait from chubs or suckers, night crawlers, shrimp, bacon, etc.