Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
best ways to detect light bites
after my recent trip to the lake. i realized that mabye i am not that good at detecting light bites, and i wondered what your ideas were about the best ways to detect a light bite were. thanks for the info in advace guys,
[signature]
[font "Comic Sans MS"][size 3]Get a wire strike detector. You'll see most of your bites that would otherwise go un-noticed. Even with a strike detector, a real light bite is still hard to see and just as hard to react to. I suggest holding your rod and paying close attention. Just like a cat at a mouse hole because by putting it down on a bucket or rod holder you just might miss those one hit wonders. [/size][/font]
[signature]
Holding that rod or even the line can make a big difference . I seen it where some of my fishing buds say they are not getting any bites and I have grab there line and held it to feel the bites and hooked fish on them . Bobbers rigged with a bobber stops can be real senitive on the line in the ice hole so you watch it for any movement and set . With the spring bobber you want it to bend just enough that it can show you the up lift of some bites . The deeper the water the more you want your line to be straight with no coils because you might see the hit to late for them light biters . I like to use bait casting reels for less memory in the line and I think it helps a lot . I even try to straight out my line as I drop it to get rid of coils in the line .Best of luck to you
[signature]
a wire strike indicator is one of the best ways, but if you shake like I do I have to set my pole down or it never stops moving. I have wire indicators on all my ice poles, I also have used hot glue to attach them to the pole so they stay right where I want them to. with hot glue you can heat it up and remove them if they need to be replaced.
[signature]