Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Is a spotting scope a necessity for NM elk?
Hey all, Just drew my first elk tag and I’m new to hunting New Mexico. My hunting experience is within 100 yards back East. Have a decent set of 10x42 binos and my rifle scope is a 4-16x50. Do you guys strongly recommend I get a spotting scope? Will it be a necessity for locating game in the distance? Thanks for your time?

EDIT: Links are not allowed for new members and are never allowed for the purpose of advertisement on this site, unless you pay for that right.
The spoting scopes not so much for finding game but it helps in deciding if you need to go over there or not, it alows  you to sit in one spot, glass with binos and then get the detail of what is exactly there, it lets you see if those horns you seen in the binos are that big.

Think of it as the difference from your naked eye to using binos to get the detail of what your lookiing at.

When it comes to optics, everyone is diffrent, we  all see diffreent, the biggest thing is well money, look at your buget then go look through everything in that buget, see if they will let you take them outside to look its way diffrent than in the store, then look for pricing online to get the best deal. pawn shops KSL.

I would defanatly recomend to get one,
               O.C.F.D.
[Image: download.jpg]
(04-26-2020, 04:01 PM)MSM1970 Wrote: The spoting scopes not so much for finding game but it helps in deciding if you need to go over there or not, it alows  you to sit in one spot, glass with binos and then get the detail of what is exactly there, it lets you see if those horns you seen in the binos are that big.

Think of it as the difference from your naked eye to using binos to get the detail of what your lookiing at.