Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fishing southern Utah area
Hello , I’m new to the group and fly fishing. I have been fishing for 30 yrs mostly in upstate New York everything from bass trout musky walleye all Lake Erie. I have fell in love with fly fishing last year took trip up from Vegas to panguitch. I just went in streams around there caught a bunch of small trout but had a blast. A friend gave me 2 fly rods looking for advice on setup and any good places in southern utah to hone my skills. 

* Cabelas letort 8.5  (5-6)
* SFA Stillwater premium graphite 9’ #5

I do have cabelas Cahill 2 Reel 

Are these any good for fishing in Utah and what will give me best setup? Reel, line, etc thanks you in advance  I appreciate ya.
Those are great rods for just about anyplace you want to fish. set them up with a good line most decent lines are $50 or more. Some of the cheap lines will make it harder to cast. I havent fished a lot in southern utah. but what I have read panguitch and minersville are great! Hope you have a great time!
Sounds good thank you. Is this SFA a good brand? Not familiar. Any recommendations on line to get?
(06-22-2020, 07:57 PM)Weplaygolf Wrote: Hello , I’m new to the group and fly fishing. I have been fishing for 30 yrs mostly in upstate New York everything from bass trout musky walleye all Lake Erie. I have fell in love with fly fishing last year took trip up from Vegas to panguitch. I just went in streams around there caught a bunch of small trout but had a blast. A friend gave me 2 fly rods looking for advice on setup and any good places in southern utah to hone my skills. 

* Cabelas letort 8.5  (5-6)
* SFA Stillwater premium graphite 9’ #5

I do have cabelas Cahill 2 Reel 

Are these any good for fishing in Utah and what will give me best setup? Reel, line, etc thanks you in advance  I appreciate ya.