Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
Strawberry ATV conditions
Heading up to Strawberry Friday afternoon with my nephew and his little boys. Thinking of bringing my Yamaha Rhino to get away from the masses but it can’t do very deep snow. Has anyone seen ATVs on Strawberry in the last couple of days? I have never used it ice fishing before so I’m kind of excited to try but if the snow is too deep we’ll just walk. Thanks!
(02-04-2021, 01:31 PM)Troutster Wrote: Heading up to Strawberry Friday afternoon with my nephew and his little boys. Thinking of bringing my Yamaha Rhino to get away from the masses but it can’t do very deep snow. Has anyone seen ATVs on Strawberry in the last couple of days? I have never used it ice fishing before so I’m kind of excited to try but if the snow is too deep we’ll just walk. Thanks!

I fished the Soldier Creek side on Tuesday.  The snow was ~6" deep and there was ~2-3" of slush, under the snow, in most of the areas we walked.
(02-04-2021, 08:31 PM)kentofnsl Wrote:
(02-04-2021, 01:31 PM)Troutster Wrote: Heading up to Strawberry Friday afternoon with my nephew and his little boys. Thinking of bringing my Yamaha Rhino to get away from the masses but it can’t do very deep snow. Has anyone seen ATVs on Strawberry in the last couple of days? I have never used it ice fishing before so I’m kind of excited to try but if the snow is too deep we’ll just walk. Thanks!

I fished the Soldier Creek side on Tuesday.  The snow was ~6" deep and there was ~2-3" of slush, under the snow, in most of the areas we walked.
Not sure how much of the Wednesday storm affected the area with new snow, but Friday looks to be stormy most the day with up to 3" of snow expected for, Heber.

Last Friday would have been easy with an ATV by the marina. No slush and very little snow. I don't know what the latest storms may have added. You might call the marina and ask them.
Thanks for the reports. I’ll report on the fishing and Rhino adventure.