Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Willard Crappie
Ok so I am completely new at fishing for Crappie at Willard. Last year I got the smallies dialed in but this year I would really like to target crappies. Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated. Willard can be such a mystery to fish so I am basically concentrating on one or two species a year to figure out there. Thanks in advance for any info.
For me I pick them up by accident at Willard, but I seen folks doing well in the north marina the last time the water was high during the spawn. The ones doing best were in a float tube and stripping flies, but I'm not sure of the rest of the details there, but look for a chance anytime now as they move into that area. They also do okay with a jig under a bobber in the same area. Good luck. Jeff
When things get stressful think I'll go fish'en and worry about it tomorrow!
North Marina is where the crowd goes, because there are almost always crappie htere in the early part of the year.
Other places I have had good results are the shrubs in the NE corner and Freeway bay.
Crappie in the spring gather to spawn in those areas.  Water is warmer and prevailing winds push to those areas.

For bait I prefer chartruse jigs under a slip bobber, it has to be a small thin one because the bite it almost inperceptable most of the time.  I often use fly fishing indicators because they are so small.  I do cast and slowly, like dead slowly retrieve while I am trying to locate fish.  Once you find them, cast back to that EXACT same spot, 2, 3 feet either side seems not to work, for me.
Once I have found them I often switch to a crappie rod that is 16' long and just keep dropping straight down on the spot.

Once the spawn is over I have no idea where they go and I switch to Pineview for them.