Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Best ice auger SHAFT for use with a cordless drill?
I know this will be something like a Ford, Chevy, Dodge question, BUT I'm definitely in the market for an ice auger shaft.  I've been using my blue 8" Mora auger for over 30 years. It has cut thousands of holes.  But my shoulders are telling me this won't be an option in the future.  I've looked at countless videos on YouTube talking about all the pros/cons of the various auger shafts to use with a cordless drill.  Now I'm asking for YOUR help to spend MY money!   What auger shaft are you using?  Why do you like it better than others? This is one requirement:  I plan to drill overlapping holes and I definitely want an 8" size.  Here are what I've looked at:
Kdrill
Strikemaster Lite Flite
Nils
Eskimo Pistol Bit
Jiffy Torch

THANKS in advance for your opinions!
"I plan to drill overlapping holes..."

That rules out Nils augers.
That is why I said that I'd need to drill overlapping holes. However, not necessarily. I tried my friend's 6" Nils out yesterday. You can drill overlapping holes with it, BUT you have to start the second hold very SLOWLY and perfectly vertical. Went through 7" of ice, overlapping with no problem, once I figured out how to start the second hole.
Lite flite has been good to me. Meets all your criteria
I run a 6" Kdrill with no regrets. Lite weight, floats, overlapping holes. Lifetime sharping of blades.(haven't used yet) Shaft extension available, but I made my own. 8" auger will be harder on drill motor.
Good fishing to all.   Hue