Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Texan: New to fishing + Questions from a new guy.
I wanted to start off with an introduction. I'm new to the fishing scene. I've did a little when I was younger with the old push button spin cast reels I had as a kid, but never anything major. I've been a power lifter for the last decade until a recent Spinal injury sidelined me. I've decided to start killing some time fishing and I'm just getting started and collecting supplies. I'm in the Georgetown / Round Rock area, but would love taking trips down to my old home (Galveston.)

First, I'm getting used to all the spin cast / bait cast reels. I bought a couple from Academy.  Bought a $39.00 real cast with ball bearings along with a bait caster by KastKings. 

I've been doing a lot of reading the spin cast are easier and more friendly for newbies. 

Can anyone help with why I find the opposite?  LOL 

I try and load a spin reel and can't get the line to spin on the reel and if I do it is a mess.

I can spool my new bait caster within 3-5 minutes and it cast pretty far for a new guy.

My only problem with the bait caster I think is dialing it in.  Correct me if I'm wrong.  The more drag, the less chance of a birds nest?  The less drag the higher the chance?

Look forward to chatting and learning from you guys.
So after some more experimenting with my bait-caster I have a feeling this will be the only type of reel I ever use. After some more playing with it I'm learning it's all in the settings and dialing it in. Getting the brake and drag set. Too much brake and my cast don't go far. Too little brake and I get a lot more birds nesting. I figured out while playing with the settings, if my line gets a little loose on the reel, it's best to have my partner pull it all out and hold tension and reel it back in before it birds nest. But now that I got the brake more dialed in and the drag more dialed in I'm getting more consistent results.