Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Korn For Kokes
I am new to fishing for Kokanee.  I bought an older boat and fixed it up so my wife isn't too embarrassed to ride in it.  Outfitted it with electric downriggers, remote control electric trolling motor, a 6 HP gas kicker and traditional sonar as well as Livescope.  So now I'm rigged up I'm looking to learn all I can about catching Konanee.  I have learned a lot from this forum so I thought I'd ask a question about some things I've read on the world wide inter web.  I have never heard mentioned on here the use of corn or scented corn in fishing for Kokanee.  Is that something anyone uses here? Effective?  Please forgive me if this is a rookie question and is not something that either works or is socially acceptable.
I've seen corn, both the commercial and homemade work, but I have not found it to be superior to the berkley power maggots. Biggest problem with the berkley power maggots is finding them. I have my stash that I purchased several months ago. I guess if I run out corn may be an option. Again this is just my opinion.
I second the Berkley power maggots. Pink is the preferred color. If you can't find the pink just dye the natural color maggots pink. Works fine. I have also used salad shrimp natural or dyed pink with success. Fire corn works but you have to rebait constantly. The other options stay on the hook longer.
(05-09-2022, 06:28 PM)stan55 Wrote: I second the Berkley power maggots. Pink is the preferred color. If you can't find the pink just dye the natural color maggots pink. Works fine. I have also used salad shrimp natural or dyed pink with success. Fire corn works but you have to rebait constantly. The other options stay on the hook longer.

Is pink the same as red?  I'm finding red and white online but not pink.