Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Jigging Spoons...Ice Fishing Ain't Just For Wimps
[cool][#0000ff]Sure, I have used my share of bitty jigs and waxworms. And, I have caught quite a few fish of several species on the small stuff. But, I have taken more fish and bigger fish while jigging spoons tipped with a chunk of fish meat.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]I have posted some of the attached pics before. I have been making and using my "Perch Urchins for over 20 years. Quite a few other Utahns have also used them with a measure of success.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]In one of the attached pics (new) I show step by step how I make the perch colored jigs. The ones in the pic are all 3/4 oz. and are some of the new "casting spoons" I now make, to replace the old hammered sinker spoons/jigs I made for many years. It is easier to pour them and paint them than it was to hammer the sinkers.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]When I finish them, I use both treble hooks and single "decorated" hooks/flies. I find that the single hooks hold a big piece of meat better and that both hooking and holding on larger fish is better. The single hook is also less likely to snag up.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]A piece of crawler can work very well, but I prefer perch meat (where legal) or a small whole minnow (dead). Chub, sucker or cisco meat (Bear Lake only) also work well to flavor these larger concoctions.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]Originally designed to get a lure down deep to perch in Deer Creek and Yuba, they have proven effective on walleyes, smallmouth, largemouth and all species of trout too. I have also taken some big cats on them, even through the ice.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]