Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The silver and blue kastmaster
This lure worked very well at the vallejo waterfront this weekend. After a couple of casts, I was pounded by a 20 inch striper! It fought and fought until he finally went belly up. Like I said, it works really good. Then after that, a 14 inch striper knocked it around for about 5 minutes!
[signature]
bigbasser, first of all... welcome to BFT! Always great to see new people here. And I gotta tell you, it's well worth being registered. Smart decision.

Thanks for the tip about the kastmaster. I have yet to buy any of those lures but they've been tempting me for quite a while.

I wonder how well they'll work through the ice. Hmmm.
[signature]
[cool][font "Pegasus"][green][size 4]Hi there bigbasser and welcome to the BFT. I have a number of Kastmaster lures in my box that have been collecting dust for many years. Maybe it is time to get them wet again.[/size][/green][/font]
[signature]
Like you were wondering, do kastmasters work well when ice fishing? To tell you the truth, yes they do. Like last year when I took a trip up to Stampede in Truckee to go ice fishing. It seemed like powerbait and corn weren't catching trout or even kokanee. So I just started to jig a gold kastmaster, and by the end of the day, my stringer was full of fish.
[signature]
I have several sizes and colors of Kastmasters. I use them quite often for Trout and Stripers in freshwater and I use them for Mackeral, Bonito, Calico Bass, Sand Bass and other species in the big salty.[cool]
[signature]
Just wondering, where do you like to go striper fishing? And also in your opinion, what is the best bait, worth the money, for stripers?
[signature]
When I lived in Northern Cali, I used to fish the Delta or the Sacramento River alot. Mostly used small shad for bait.