Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
so. cal winter?
I have always fished the kelp for sandies or calicos in the summer, this winter I would like to go out, is the fishing alot different? any fish better to target? Tom
[signature]
Thats very cool to know. as you can tell I am still pretty new at fishing and thats the kind of info that is cool to know. Looks like the season just got a little longer ha ha thanks again, Tom
[signature]
California's nearshore bottom fishing regs are extraordinarily complex, requiring ability to positvely identify a variety of very similar species. If you can master that little difficulty (along with the open/closed dates etc.) there are a variety of tasty rockfish/lingcod species available.

You might consider Mexican boat/fishing permits and try the Coronados and rockpile areas. Far less complex regulations. In US waters, areas where the lobster pots are numerous may prove productive.

Good Luck

Jerry
[signature]
[size 2]Mexican licenses are available at most of the local tackle shops that cater to SW fishermen. (fisherman's landing, anglers choice, turners,etc.) You could also call the Mexican authorities and avoid tackle shop surcharges at 619 233-4324. If you buy direct, they won't accept anything except money orders for the precise amount.[/size]

[size 2]You will need licenses for everyone, even the youngest, whether or not they are fishing. You will also have to show the boat registration when you purchase the boat permit.[/size]

[size 2]I believe that bottom fishing is completely closed in waters deeper than 120 feet. There are plenty of fish shallower however. You might give halibut a try off the Hotel Del Coronado or near the IB fishing pier. (or north of the mission bay entrance or up off Torrey Pines)[/size]

[size 2]Jerry[/size]
[signature]