Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
20g v 12g
What are the pros and cons of each bore, i Have a .20g NEF plinker and a .410g plinker, i bought those 2 just cuz they were cheap, if i were to get into doves of phesants, which would be better, which would be better for a big game shotgun hunt. thanks
[signature]
[crazy] I'm no expert , but what I think about them is >>>>>

The 20 gauge would have a bigger pattern than the 4.10, but
both cals are good for what you want you want to use while bird hunting , I prefer a 12 gauge . Theres a bigger difference in them while big game hunting thou !! A 20 would have more shock power than a 4.10 , and also it won't deflect as much in heavy cover !! But the 4.10 would shoot flatter !! The difference in distance is something I don't know , but would think the 4.10 would be better for long distance !! Me ? well I would use a 12 gauge with a slug barrel for big game !! I own all three , but the 4.10 and the 20 , are still in the box ( always grab the Bennelli ) LOL !!!

[signature]
I've used the 20 gage for bird hunting and found it worked fine, but for bigger game a 12 is the way to go. My 2cts
[signature]
I for one shoot and have only shot a 12 g shotgun. The bigger the gauge on the shotgun the more shot you throw at your target (example a 20g with 3/4oz 6 shot and a 12g with 1 1/8oz 6 shot will throw many more pelets at your target) You do not have more knock down power comparing those two loads, they will both reach your target at the same time with the same velocity side by side but the 12 g will have more pellets for its pattern. This argument happens alot in 10g vs 12g and 3 1/2" vs 3" vs 2 3/4" shells. Knockdown power is not gained, more pellets and a bigger pattern and shot string are gained. Now come into play on how much pain are you willing to dish out to your shoulder to accomplish and how much do you really want to pay for ammo?