Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
2 tube reviews, 1 good, 1 not so much
[font "Arial"][size 3]Just to start, I am new to tubing. Just started this summer, as a matter of fact. I am on my second tube. I tube the Potomac River for smallmouth bass. I bought the tube as a wading accessory to begin with.[/size][/font]
[size 3][font "Arial"] [/font][/size]
[font "Arial"][size 3]The first, a Creek Co. U-2000, had a problem with the seat ripping out from the sides after the second trip. This could be because I am approaching the weight limit on the tube, but I am sending the cover back for replacement. I will use it as a spare for when a (lightweight)buddy comes along. I think it would be a fine tube for someone under 200lbs or so. The materials and zippers seem sturdy enough.[/size][/font]
[font "Arial"][size 3]The 2nd tube, a TU Bighorn, has been nothing but a pleasure. I have taken it out a half dozen times. No problems with seam separation, the materials seem to be top quality. Good zippers, lots of D-rings, and since I am a Keep-It-Simple-Stupid type of fisherman, the pockets are plenty big enough for me. I tried the stabilizer bar the first time out and haven’t even brought it with me since then. No problems with the U bladder closing on me, or stability. I have taken it through class 1 and really mild class 2 rapids with no problems, usually being able to stop in the middle of them if I want to. On the other hand, I only attempt this because I am used to wading these same areas for 20 years. I would NOT recommend this for a river beginner. All in all, A great tube.[/size][/font]
[signature]
[cool][#0000ff]Thanks for the input. Always like to get reviews, good or bad. That really helps the newcomers to get a better slant on different craft.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]