Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Trolling motor on front or back?
I have a cpl friends that say front and other guy insists only the back.Which pushes or pulls best,is less wear on motor or does it matter? I got me a lil 2 seater boat so i can take by myself,the guy that had it mounted it on front,im thinkin i should do the same right?
[signature]
[Smile] I have always seen them mounted on the front of the boat
[signature]
I'm new to this so i dont know much.But looking at pictures of them on sites for sell the handle is facing away from prop to run on back of boat.They do spin around right?That tells me that they are supposed to be on the back but can be run from the front...
[signature]
Most bow mount (front mounted) trolling motors will have some sort of foot controller wired to it so you can be just about anywhere in the boat and maneuver it.

If you have just a small 2-seater and pilot the boat from the back, then you'll most likely want to stick with a trolling motor that mounts to the transom (the back part of the boat that the motor is mounted to).

If you could show us a pic of your boat, I'm sure someone here could tell you which is best. But it sounds to me, just from what you've said already, that a transom mount trolling motor would be better.
[signature]
Yea its a transom mount motor for the back i guess.But this guy says it pulls best from front and all trollin motors are designed to go on the front,he is full of it though.It's just 1 them lil 2 seater 8 or 9 foot basshunter plastic/fiberglass boats...
[signature]