Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
need some help!
I've got an old Silstar Power Tip rod that I want to refinish and put new eyes on. My question is this something that I can do at the house with out any special equipment? If so, what tools do I need. What specific type of thread do I need? Paint for the rod? Break it down for me!!!!!! I've never done a rod before, and I really like the existing rod and I want to do it right! Thanks guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!
[signature]
You really don't need special tools, but some things make it easier like the a rod stand (holder) and tread tensioner. one thing you will need is a finishing motor. this is used to rotate the rod and a slow speed to allow the epoxy finish to flow and make a nice smooth looking surfice. a barbeque motor will turn at about the right speed. I've seen a fan motor used for this one time.
size A thread is the most common thread for guide wraps.
razor blades or xacto blades and sharp sissors will be needed.
color preserver and flex coat epoxy will be needed. color preserver is applied to the wrap first, this preserves the color of the thread so it won't fade out. then the flex coat epoxy is the finish.
tape will also be needed, I use small pieces of electrical tape.
I will post some pics a little later today of my setup and tools that I use. hope this helps.
later chuck
[signature]
That's alot of help, I appreciate it alot. I'll send you pic's of before and after.
[signature]
Ok, I'm back, I had alot of spring cleaning to do today, here are some pic's of my little setup, in the near future I will have some pi'c of a few wraps being done and it will be a sticky post. hope this and the info I pm'ed you helps. later chuck
[signature]
I don't know if you have already fixed up your old rod or not. If
not send it to me and I'll get it fishing again. Always insure your most prized rods when shipping. [url "http://www.bubbashotrods.com"]www.bubbashotrods.com[/url]
[signature]
Ok this is up my alley