Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Waders....A safety hazard?
I have a question about a safety concern using waders and floating. Hopefully I never have to find out the answer to this question first hand, but if some of you have, I would like to know.

I am just getting started with my first toon. I am in Alaska, and so there is really not any question about 'if' I should use any waders or not. But I have heard stories about near drowning experiences with waders filling up with water and pulling people under. Of course wearing a pfd is the best defense, but if the waders completely filled up, would a pfd still work properly. I realize there are a lot of variable there that you might have to consider, but has anyone 'gone swimming' and had any problems with the waders causing safety problems? Like I say, hopefully I won't ever have to find out, but I am planning on floating moving water and would like to know what to expect.
[signature]
First off, that is why waders have belts. But I was told that if your waders do fill ip with water it is zero bouyance.
Try filling a water balloon with water and through it in a pool.
[signature]
[cool][#0000ff]As the flygoddess has suggested, a belt will help prevent a major intake of water in the event you are dunked in the drink. And, you definitely want to avoid taking on water in your waders. Cold water accelerates hypothermia and loss of control. The bulk of the water also restricts mobility.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]The potential GOOD news is that tubers and tooners have far less chance of getting immersed than those who wade while fishing. I have never "lost it" while tubing and I do not know anyone else who has. However, if you are running Angry rivers in a pontoon the possibility of getting bucked off is increased.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]