Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Gas auger problem
I have an older strike master auger with an 8" blade and a tecumseh engine on it. The problem is that it doesn't seem to have nearly as much torque as it did last year. It starts and runs great, but as soon as I put and downward pressure on it the blade will stop turning and it has a really hard time breaking through the bottom of the ice. I know the mix might be a little wrong, it calls for 24:1 and I'm running the 32:1 from my weedeater this summer, but I've run the 32:1 in the past. The auger got thoroughly drained and stabilized last spring as always and I always mix a little seafoam in with all of my gas and mixed gas that might not get completely used within 1 month. I've never changed the blades, but they still feel fairly sharp, maybe not razor sharp, but you can feel the burr when you drag your finger across it. I put a new govenor spring on the unit last winter, but ran good after that. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
[signature]
Sounds like your gas mixture to me! I would clean your spark plug, change the gas and let it run for a bit to clean out the carb and get the new gas running through it.
[signature]
I agree with Rob but I would add one thing, use Seafoam in every tank. Unless I misunderstood, you said you use Seafoam only when you won't be using your auger for over a month, is that right? I mix my Seafoam mixture at one gallon of gas to 1 oz. Seafoam. If the problem is your carb, try doubling the Seafoam mixture for a tank of two, even if you have to just hold the auger with out it cutting the ice. How old is your auger? If it is only a few years old the above method should work, if it is older you might consider overhauling the carb. Replacing your blades might help a little but it doesn't sound like a blade problem. Just my two cents worth, hope it helps. WH2
[signature]