Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
You know that you are going?
[blush][font "Poor Richard"][size 3][green]You know that you are never ever going to live this down. What - Every time your wife who never fished before catches a fish twice the size of yours. For her to forget about it is going to cost you plenty.[Tongue][/green][/size][/font]
[signature]
Been there done that, but the best part was, she's been hooked every since that day and now she's my best fishing partner ever.
[signature]
[center][font "Poor Richard"][green][size 3][cool]Hey there EZOP that is real cool.[/size][/green][/font][/center]
[signature]
And here's the rest of the story.

We had a small 12 foot aluminum boat and after I had been fishing by myself for many months, I finally talked her into going. I had found a nice hole that held smallmouth bass and walleye and it was simple verticle jigging. I knew this would be easy for her and not much skill would be involved. Just drop until you hit bottom, reel up a foot and slowly jig up and down. Well I started catching a bunch of smallmouth in the 1-2lb range and she wasn't having any luck. I tried to tell her how I was doing it, but she kept letting it just drag the bottom and it kept hanging up and snagging. After a while I just gave up lecturing on how to do it right and would just wait for her to snag, then I would re tie another jig for her and let her start all over.
Well after a while she says she's snagged again, I look over and her pole is double over and she's tugging up and down trying to free it from the bottom. At first I thought, dam, I'm running out of jigs, then I could tell that the boat was actually moving down the bank slowly. I looked at her and said I think you have a fish on. She said no way, it has to be the bottom, because it hasn't moved from the bottom at all. Just then her pole finally started to show the tugs of a fish. It was a fish for sure and she was now convinced.