Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fishing in heavy rock cover
Hi. i am new to fishing cats.
I have a bit of a problem. I have been after the catfish here on j priest in Tennessee for a few days now. i think i have finally tracked down where the catfish are by talking to some local anglers. i tried a new spot where i could hit the river channel from the shore. i got one cat that night but the reason i did not catch any more was i kept losing a lot of tackle on the rocks. what is the best rig for fishing rocky spots. the depth i am fishing ranges from 5 feet with a massive drop off to 20 then another drop to 30 to 40 feet. A way to see what i am talking about is this channel looks allot like stairs underwater with each step being a ten foot drop.

I am using chicken liver with pantie hose to hold the bait on to night a web sight told me to use. is that i good idea?
[signature]
[black][size 3]Hey Mike_C,[/size][/black]
[black][size 3][/size][/black]
[black][size 3]Welcome to BFT ![/size][/black]
[black][size 3]What kind of catfish are you targeting ? By the bait you are using(liver), it sounds like channel cats.[/size][/black]
[black][size 3]Chicken liver will work, but a better choice would be cut bait - something like shad or skipjack herring. The fish you catch with cut bait will be larger on the average than it will with liver. You can cast it farther out into the river channel and it will stay on your hook better than using liver. [/size][/black]
[black][size 3]Cut bait is also a better all around choice for a bait if you have Blue catfish in the area where you are fishing. Both Channel cats and Blue cats prefer cut baits to just about anything else - especially the larger fish.[/size][/black]