Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
salt water weed guard
[center][font "Pristina"][green][size 4][cool]Tying a salt water fly that needs a weed guard, then this video is for you.[/size][/green][/font][/center]
[font "Pristina"][green][size 4][/size][/green][/font] [center][font "Pristina"][green][size 4][/size][/green][/font] [/center]
[url "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6f7zNGMOYrc"][font "Pristina"][green][size 4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6f7zNGMOYrc[/size][/green][/font][/url]
[signature]
..cool video.. could the same idea be applied to a freswater fly if you felt the need to have a weed guard on it??

MacFly [cool]
[signature]
[cool][cool][font "Poor Richard"][green][size 3]Hi MacFly - while I am no expert on the subject I'm incline to think that a weed guard on a fresh water fly would make it to heavy to cast. No only the weight but the wind resistance that say a 20 mono wt guard would create. Salty swatters are probably using 9s & 10s. What say you TubeN2?[/size][/green][/font]
[signature]
... the reason I thought that was that you posted using a floss starter loop to clear head cement.. and that made me think of a post FG did a while back about drop loops for a drop fly.. so I figure if you can use a loop like that for a drop fly why cant you use a loop like in this video for a weed guard.. you'd probably use a lighter weight line to do it but the principle would be the same.. plus.. just remembered this. I have purchased popper flies before that had a weed guard.. soooooooooo .. I asked.. lol... you know me that if I have thought it usually leads to a question..

... again realizing I am a novice at this so I am doing a lot of guessing...[Smile]

MacFly [cool]
[signature]