Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fly rod and reel
I'm brand new to fly fishing and I need some advice on what kind of rod and reel I should use and any other advice you care to offer. My wife set me up with some lessons as a present so I should get the basics and all of that stuff. I'd like to hear your opinions, I know that if I go to the fly shop were the lesson are going to be taught they'll help me with what they've got. So any advice would be great.
Thanks in advance
[signature]
[black][size 3]If you're just starting, and exploring the sport, I would suggest that you look at the Cabela's Genesis reel/rod combo.[/size][/black]
[size 3][/size]
[size 3]I have given this advise to others, and they have been very pleased with the choice. It's on sale at the present time for $129.00 (usually about $150.00)[/size]
[size 3][/size]
[size 3]I would also suggest a 9 foot, 5 wieght as a starter rod. It's the most popular, and can be used for most purposes.[/size]
[size 3][/size]
[size 3]I have included a picture of the Cabela's add, which comes with several other items. Overall, a very good choice for a starter set.[/size]
[size 3][/size]
[size 3]You could go into the Cabela's web site for a full run down on the entire equipment list.[/size]
[size 3][/size]

[size 3][/size]
[size 3][/size]
[signature]
How much are you looking to spend? The answer will help us to provide you with options within your budget.

Schlitz-
[signature]
I'm not sure. I guess to start out 175.00 or below I can always upgrade.
[signature]
Here is a good link on what to consider when shopping for a combo rig.

http://www.bigskyfishing.com/fly-fishing...combos.php

I recommend going with the best rod and reel you can get for what your lookning to spend. I have several friends with entry level equipment that are great fishermen but didn't realize how much more enjoyable the sport could be with better equipment. Now they like to use my stuffSmilewhen they can.