Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
...equipment storage
... had a thought today since I was not able to go tubing yesterday....

...being the novice here I have a question about the proper way to store waders and float tubes after use...

.. after my last trip tubing I washed down my my waders, fins, boots, and the float tube itself...

I hung the waders and the fins up on a hanger.. I left them both to dry.. once the waders were dry on the outside I turned them inside out and let that dry as well.. after a week or so of hanging I turned the waders righ side out.. folded them flat.. and put them in the bag I use to transport them back and forth to the lake...

I laid the tube out on a flat surface and let that dry thoroughly... once it was dry I folded it flat as well..

..right now I have my waders, boots, fins stored in the bag and the float tube is folded and laying flat in the open (on my work bench)..

.. my question is am I doing things correctly to not only keep it all clean but storing it correctly ...if not what should I do to make sure that everything lasts as long as possible and is safely stored until the next time I use it...

MacFly [cool]
[signature]
[cool][#0000ff]Sounds like you are doing everything right for long term storage. The main thing is to get everything clean and dry to prevent mildew and degradation of the materials. Most elements of tubing gear is nonreactive nylon or other tough stuff, but it will still last longer and perform better over time with a little TLC.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]I Sadly admit that I am not nearly so fastidious. (No longer fast, but still hideous) I do store my gear during the colder months of winter, but my cleanup and storage are much simpler. During the warmer months, when I fish two or more times a week, my stuff is kept in a constant state of readiness, and it may not get a good washing for several trips.[/#0000ff]
[signature]