Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I Can't Set the Hook
I have been catfishing on our small lake for many years but have sinced started to fish from shore on the River. I use chicken livers and they seem to be working really well for Channel Catfish. The only problem is I use I'm going through an entire tub of livers and only bringing in two or three catfish. Usually I start to notice I'm getting a bite before the bell rings(I use a rod holder and bell) because my line gets tight and the rod will start to dip. I will pick up the rod and wait for a strong bite or tug but everytime I set the hook, nothing, and usually there is no Liver left. If there is Iiver left I'll adjust it, cast it out and the same thing will happen until the liver is gone. It's very frustrating, any suggestions? Both me and my friend are using different size hooks, we mix it up between drift fishing and bottom fishing also. PLEASE HELP!! At our lake they just take the bait and run...it' so easy....I don't want to give up on river fishing.
[signature]
You may want to try using a circle hook. They say you do not have to set the hook at all. In fact you are not suppose to set the hook...it sets itself. Get a bite, reel it in.

I have not tried them, but it may be worth a try. I have been fishing the Columbia River from the shore and based on how many crawlers I lose I must be missing bites and have been thinking I should try them also.

Good luck to you and let me know if you find a good solution to our shared challenge.
[signature]
Yeah I am using circle hooks actually, I don't remember off hand what size it is. But it is almost like they are eating it around the hook. This may not be right but my buddy and I think that it is really small fish and maybe our hooks or our bait is too big, but I don't know.
[signature]