Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
'Toon Tracking Help!
So I'm new to pontoons...

Help me track the damn thing straight while rowing! I can go dead straight in a tube kicking, and same while kicking in the 'toon. Just when I oar I SUCK! Is it just an acquired skill?

Also, my poor girly hands feel like they're getting beat up. Maybe I'm pulling too hard?

Has anyone ever tried fitting skegs or keels to a toon? I know that they'll hinder shallow water running and pivoting under finning, but I'm at a loss. Maybe temporarily as training wheels?

Thanks!

_SHig
[signature]
NFO tried them but the cost and the low demand ended that.
I don't know of any out there. There was one other company but it is out of business due to legality of the co. name.

I like my oars about 8" apart (the end of the handles when oars are straight out to the side) Any more and they are not comfortable.
Shorter oars on the packable boats are in my opinion not long enough.

As far as rowing straight, it will come, but I don't notice any unusual abuse to my hands and I am a girl.
It IS more productive to row backwards, forward is awkward, but all in getting use to it
[signature]
Backwards only for sure...

As for the keel, looks like a simple build!

http://www.cabelas.com/prod-1/0043101319662a.shtml

_SHig
[signature]
Let me know how that thing works. I don't know anyone else that uses one and they have been around for awhile.

I would say, AGAIN, get longer oars
[signature]
I don't think it'll work all too well. I think for my uses I need one that fixes to the ends of the points near my feet. Kinda like the vertical stab on a plane. Keeps the back end back, ya know?

Having this thing midships wouldn't be very effective I think...

I'll build something and post up.