Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
night fishing state park fees
fuzzy's thread got me wondering what exactly the fees were at the state parks for night fishing. so i sent an email to state parks. here's my email and their response:

[font "Arial"][size 2]mary,[/size][/font]
[font "Arial"][size 2] i'm hoping that you may be able to help clear up some confusion for me. i'm a walleye fisherman and so my favorite state park by far is the starvation state park. i have been launching boats there for nearly 20 years. over the years i have had an occasional problem with the people working there, but nothing that's been anything more than a small irritant. most of the issues i've encounterd are the people trying to decide how much to charge me or where i should park. however, recently the issues seem to be more frequent. here's my problem: i mainly fish during the night. i like to arrive close to 10 pm and fish until 11 am or noon the following day. i normally buy an annual state park pass. i encounter a lot of confusion when i enter the park. sometimes i'm let in and out with no issues. however from time to time i'm told that i have to pay a camping fee despite having an annual pass. sometimes i'm told i have to pay a camping fee and park in a different location in spite of the fact that the parking lot is mostly empty both when i launch and when i leave the following day. my favorite: one time an employee deducted the amount of the day use fee from the amount of the camping fee and charged me the difference. i don't understand why i would be charged a camping fee for using the same parking space (usually) and ramp that people only have to pay a day use fee for. i'm not camping. i'm not using the camping facilities. i'm fishing. if i show up at 6 am and fish until 8 pm no one would dream of charging me for camping. so i don't understand why i would be charged a camping fee for fishing from 10 pm until noon? my latest pass expired in june and i'm not sure yet whether