Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Bamboo & Pflueger
Really wanted a bamboo rod as I am a carpenter and guitarist who loves old stuff and there is something special about wood. Really had to weed through a bunch of stuff to dig these out but now starting to feel pretty set up. These rods are bucks but I think I got lucky, hoping someone may recognize. says it's 8" and a "couple" of inches. says xlnt cond.

Quick search before auction ended turned up nothing but I know quality when I see it and view this item as worn (which is good) shows how integrity standing test of time, that is some nice looking bamboo as well, like the patina. "JUST" scored it for $44, a buck over competitor bid,

[inline aee9_1.JPG]

[inline e38a_1.JPG]

[inline bfc7_1.JPG]

And this reel that jumped into my life for another 5 bucks

[inline pfl1.jpg]
[inline pfl2.jpg]

So now have two rigs all spooled up with ???, 20 flies ,new line, and looking more at flies and wondering about what else ?? leader and tippet ?? do my flies tie right to the line ? I sure like old stuff, reel is from the fifties, supposed to function flawlessly, figure all this stuff lasted well this long ........

thanks for looking

BFS [fishin]
[signature]
I know squat about boo rods and old reels.. but there are those here that can help you out with that..

in answer to your one question.. no.. you do not attach the fly directly to the line.. that is what the leader and tippet are for..

the leader is attached to the fly line.. and the tippet is attached to the leader.. the tippet is what is attached to the fly..

as for knots to do all of this tying.. you use a a nail knot to attache the backing to the fly line...and then the fly line to the leader (most new fly lines come with a welded loop and that means you dont have to use the nail knot for this connection)....

for the newer fly lines with welded loop you can use a perfection loop to connect the fly line and the leader in a loop to loop fashion..