Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Topwater Lures??>?
I am sold on top waters after yesterdays audience for em. The problem is I didn't set the hook on one of them. I have always be skeptical about them but man they are pay day. I'm wondering from you more experienced fellas on when to set the hook. I kept a eagle eye on the lure every time and could see the fish seconds prior to the strike. Which makes me think I set the hook too soon, I'm not sure. When getting a strike on topwater do you wait to feel a tug. Or should you know when to set. Using swim baits which i'm use to, I obviously wait for the tug. I'm new to topwater so advice would be appreciated.
[signature]
Also what are your favorite top water lures? I'm liking the muskie buster line up. Anyone with opinions on that brand?
[signature]
Whenever i use top water weather it is for bass or Pike i always wait for the tug! Alot of the time fish will jump to hit the lure and totally miss it, if you jerk there will be no fish to hook or you could foul hook him. Normally the fish will come up grab the lure and turn away, once u feel that line tighten up set that hook!

I seem to have good luck with zara spooks for pike, once in a while i will use a big chug bug to.

Hope this helps.
[signature]
Fun isn't it???[Smile]
I have fished with many different types of topwaters for tigers and bass and by far my most productive is a 3/8 oz to 1/2 oz buzzbait. Chart./white skirt with a gold blade is my go-to. The ones i have been using as of late are made by Cavatron that Sportsmans Warehouse sells. They last a long time and almost always track true right out of the package. They don't take very much speed to keep on top and cast nicely.