Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pike spawn questions
I was watching Fishing with Dave on the Sportsmans Channel yesterday and they were on Rainy Lake catching pre-spawn pike and some actively spawning. They were using large stickbaits like the Rapala Minnow and Bombers. Their catch rate was phenomenal! Huge fish cast after cast. They also said it was one of a handfull of lakes with regs allowing fishing during the spawn. I think it was Rainey lake? Anyhow, i have several lakes here in UT that have large pike in them and was wanting to know what techniques and times would be the best to target these fish? I have plenty of experience fishing for tigers but never pike except ice fishing for them. I plan on trying bucktail spinners, large stickbaits, and possibly some swimbaits. Anybody have any good advice? Water temps to look for or specific areas of the lake? Thanks[cool]
[signature]
wish i knew a litle moore about them as well. im going with some of the same stuff you are. i would think bigger baits will be closer to the size of the prey they would be feading on. not sure what month they spawn either here.
[signature]
What kind of system are you guys targeting?
[signature]
Watershed you mean?
It is a reservoir that gets as deep as 60'+ i think but has shallow flats and plenty of points and such. Alot of sand and gravel shore line.
[signature]
I'll try to help you out here LH2 but i cant promise anything. I fish for pike as soon as the ice melts off the lakes here in PA which is in about a month. I actually like to fish the day the ice is gone, the sooner the better. I like to do my pike fishing from my 9' pontoon kick boat. they never know you are there.