Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Why? Why? Why?
I have been visiting here for a couple years, and just registered. I am a TERRIBLE fisherman, but would like to change that, as I have loved it since I was a kid. I only get out once in a while, like 5-8 times per year, usually with kids, so bear with me.

So, who can tell me why glowing jigs and the like catch fish? Nothing in a fish's normal prey base in freshwater glows, that I can think of. Is it a simple question of visibility? If so, would attaching a light above a jig (like where you'd put a little spoon) attract fish and help them find the bait. We're planning an assault on the burbot this week, and I wondered if some oversized glowstick-like beads would help.

Why do fish hit one lure, but not another that looks super similar? I mean, it makes no sense to me that my chartreuse jig is a different brand than yours and you are catching all the fish, but they're the same size, about the same style, etc... They say that most lures out there are designed to catch fishermen...

What the heck is a ratfinkie? Why is it better than any other jig the same size?

What tricks can anyone tell me for finding fish through the ice without an electronic unit. I know they aren't that expensive, but I spend less than 500.00 per year on outdoor stuff, including license, gas, gear, and park fees, and that includes bowhunting. I'll do it eventually.

It's nice to be part of it finally....
[signature]
Well welcome to the forum. The reason glow works is that a lake that is covered with a foot or so of ice and a foot of snow is very dark. The glow just attracts them in the darker water. Once they get close the scent of the bait and action of lure entices the bite.