Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
catch and release
I'm fairly new to fishing other than as a boy 40 years ago and normally fish a small pond with plenty of 1 or 2 pound bass. These bass seem strong and healthy but I've never seen bluegill of any size taken out of this pond. A friend said some of the bass needed to be harvested to allow the bluegill and remaining bass a chance to increase in size. The pond has been stocked for 13 or 15 years. Any opinion on wether to keep releasing or keep a few. The owner is alright with keeping some.
[signature]
Gills become stunted for the lack of food.

for a pond there is three things you can you can do to increase the size of your gills.

[ul][li]Plant hybred gills[/li]
[ul][li]dont wory about the stunted gills breeding, their fry will get eaten by the larger gills and bass.[/li][/ul][li]Plant minnows and or flies, [/li]
[ul][li]"stone flies" check with DNR, you dont want to plant something that is not normaly native to the area you are in.[/li][/ul][li]Feed them artificialy[/li]
[ul][li]going out and tossing a hand full of fish food available though the same people he orders fish from or putting in an automated feeder relitively inexpencive. you can pick up a 5 gallon bucket and a feed spreader for under 50 dollars. Battery and solor charger extra. hang it on a pole at the end of the dock.[/li][/ul][/ul]remember small bass compete for the same food suply as a bluegill, so if you are over stocking with bass you are starving out the gills causing them to become stunted.
[signature]