Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
steelhead flies
I dont fly fish but i do use mainly flies for steelhead fishing. I normaly use wooly worms but i have been looking for some diffrent flies to tie. I am a very novice fly tier.

If you guys have any flies that you like to use, and wouldnt mind sharing.
[signature]
I don't think you can get much better than a Woolly Bugger for Steelhead.
Everyone I know that catches them, uses them.
Just different colors maybe.
[signature]
[font "Garamond"][#008000][size 4][Image: happy.gif]Before I was into FF, for steelheads I always used a lure with a lot of orange. Use to make my own so perhaps that was my intro into tying. This one is name after a nice piece of water in Wa. The Skykomish Sunrise. Its worth a try if the bugger fails you. Good luck.[/size][/#008000][/font]
[center][inline Skykomish_Sunrise.jpg]
[signature]
[inline "P1010042 (Small).JPG"]

Just caught this tues on black body and red hackle wooly bugger with a small chrome corky in front bottom bouncing.
[signature]
[center][font "Garamond"][#008000][size 4][Image: happy.gif]Nice catch there poky_mon. [/size][/#008000][/font]
[center][font "Garamond"][#008000][size 4]How about a pic of your fly?[/size][/#008000][/font]
[signature]
[font "Garamond"][#008000][size 4][Image: happy.gif]Hi there jigs - to me shape & color are the two most important factors in tying a successful fly. Durability comes with experience.[/size][/#008000][/font]
[signature]
[inline IMG_0252.jpg][inline IMG_0257.jpg][quote Dryrod]
[center][font "Garamond"][#008000][size 4][.img][url "http://www.bigfishtackle.com/images/gforum/happy.gif[/img]Nice"]http://www.bigfishtackle.com/.../happy.gif[/img]Nice[/url] catch there poky_mon. [/size][/#008000][/font]
[center][font "Garamond"][#008000][size 4]How about a pic of your fly?[/size][/#008000][/font][/quote]

this is it and it had a chrome corky in front. I tried one like your pic but it was called a purple peril.
[signature]