Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Confused about fins need help
Hey everyone this is my first post and I'm new to float tube fishing. I recently bought 2 fishcat 4's and a set of neopreen stocking foot waders.

My question is what kind of diving flippers should I get open foot or full foot? Will full foot fins work with stocking foot waders?

I'd much preffer full foot if they'd work.

Josh
[signature]
I think you answered your own question. If they work, go for it. Most here use the scuba fin, but use Aqua shoes or sand booties with them. That way they are not walking on the neoprene which you DON'T want to do. Some even old canvas shoes.
[signature]
I'm still a little unsure. Which type?

these (Full foot)

[url "http://www.onlinescuba.com/eshop/10Expand.asp?ProductCode=4567A3"]http://www.onlinescuba.com/eshop/10Expand.asp?ProductCode=4567A3[/url]

or these (Open heal)

[url "http://www.onlinescuba.com/eshop/10Expand.asp?ProductCode=4106"]http://www.onlinescuba.com/eshop/10Expand.asp?ProductCode=4106[/url]

Will the socks work with a full foot and my waders? I was thinking my waders (stocking foot) might not fit. Are full foot made to wear aqua socks in? I'm under the impression people go bare foot with them when snorkleing. I don't know I'm totaly clueless when it comes to fins.
[signature]
all I can tell ya is from my own state of confusion (like yours right now.. :-) ).. I shopped back and forth and asked a lot of questions and this is what I eneded up with..

I have breathable waders with a stocking foot.. I then took the waders with me and bought a decent pair of diving boots.. and then got the open heel fins like the second link you showed..

now.. make sure and take the waders with you when you get the boots.. and the fins if you can.. that way you can make sure you have a nice snug fit but not one that will be too tight and cut the circulation off in your foot..