Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Rod question for some of u pro's
Ok i have a Abu garcia AmbasSador 5500 C3 reel that i am gonna use for my bass pole, Question is what type of Rod do i need?? Been looking at a 6' 6" medium to heavy action Rhino at wal mart, Is this a decent pole for a bass set up?? Thanks[fishin]
[signature]
I've had a C3 for 3 or so years. Good solid reels. Mainly use mine for trolling or deep water jigging. Never had much luck with it for casting. What type of fishing or technique do you plan on doing with your new setup?
About the rod...never had one of the Rhinos, so I can't give you an opinion on that.
However, if you have a price range in mind I can definitely give some ideas.
[signature]
[quote Catatafish]I've had a C3 for 3 or so years. Good solid reels. Mainly use mine for trolling or deep water jigging. Never had much luck with it for casting. What type of fishing or technique do you plan on doing with your new setup?
About the rod...never had one of the Rhinos, so I can't give you an opinion on that.
However, if you have a price range in mind I can definitely give some ideas.[/quote]

Hey there Catatafish, i am basically gonna be tossing luers with it for bass, As far as price range i would like to stay at $40 or under.....
[signature]
$40 or under...
How about an "Ugly Stick lite"? I looked on Bass pro and it looks like you can pick one up for the price you are looking for.
I had one a while back and it was a pretty decent rod for the price. Would still have it if not for a clumsy friend stepping on it.
[signature]
I use a 5'6'' medium action for bass fishing.

You probably don't need a heavy 6'6'' rod unless you are going to be flipping into heavy weeds or brush piles. I also use a 5'6'' light rod for my small spinners and finesse worms when trying for smallmouth or smaller largermouth bass.