Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Please help a noob
I'm waiting on my first fly pole (Cabela's Wind River 9' 5# combo, on sale for 49.95 [Smile]) to arrive at Cabela's so I can pick it up.

In the meantime I wanted to pick up some flies mainly for trout fishing (also small community pond bass and other species from time to time). I'm planning on hitting up the local mountain lakes and creeks. I'm completely new to fly fishing and was wondering if anybody could give me a list of flies I should be trying to obtain. Or if you know of a decent prepackaged set that would be great also. I already have the Orvis 9.99 best selling flies set.

Tippets, apparently this combo is spooled with weight forward line and a leader. I want to get a spool of leader to use for tippets. I'm going to be hitting up the local (SLC, UT) mountain lakes and creeks. What brand/type of leader should I get? Should I get three different sizes so I can make my own leaders down the road?

Should I also buy an extra reel to be spooled with sinking line? The Cabela's Three Forks 4/5/6 reel is only 20 bucks right now so for that price why not is what I'm thinking but if you think I wont switch that often that I'll just stick with the one for now.

I purchased 5" curved and straight forceps, foam strike indicators, and a fly box with an assortment of 12 flies on eBay. I just told the guy to include whatever he thought would be good in my situation. What other accessories do I need, nippers, Zap a Gap, vest or chest vest etc.? The waders and boots will have to wait, I need to save up for them. I figure I'll just shore fish for now.

I've been reading what I can and watching educational videos on the internet, but your suggestions for a beginner set up are GREATLY appreciated.
[quote kickingback]I'm waiting on my first fly pole (Cabela's Wind River 9' 5# combo, on sale for 49.95 [Smile]) to arrive at Cabela's so I can pick it up.