Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
another rookie
Hello, im a rookie just starting the float tube craze and have a couple of questions. I went to canyon lake in arizona to try my float tube, a TU Togiak. did not go fishing but just took it to get a feeling.After i was done, i started deflating the tube, water came out of the other side of the pump. Does that mean i have a leak inside the bladder. And how the heck do u turn the tube left or right with your fins, my god i was doing the twist dance trying to turn and couldnt. thanks
[signature]
[cool][#0000ff]Welcome aboard. I used to fish Canyon a bit too, when I lived in Chandler. [/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]Not sure about the water coming out of the pump. Sounds like you might have gotten water inside the pump. Not likely you had water inside the air bladder. Did you take the pump out in the tube with you? Those pumps are not waterproof and neither are the back cargo areas of float tubes. Take the top cap off your pump and empty the water out.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]It is almost impossible for water to get inside the bladder under normal filling and operation. There will usually be enough pressure to keep water out. And, unless you ride with your craft partially deflated there should not even be much water between the bladder and the cover.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]Learning to maneuver your craft is always something you need to learn by doing. Just think of it as a canoe. If you only paddle on one side, you will turn in circles. Make a slow down-kick on one side but a strong upkick and you will turn. A slight bit of body twisting might help, but you should not get a kink in your spine from float tubing.[/#0000ff]
[#0000ff][/#0000ff]
[#0000ff]I usually advise newbie tubers to leave their tackle on shore for a while on their first trip and to just practice turns and powering straight back until they have a hang of the rhythm and the turning.[/#0000ff]
[signature]