Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
crappie flies?
Hey guys, I just moved, and I now live in good pan fish territory (among other cooler fish) but it's been a long time since I caught a crappie on a fly. Does anybody have any tips on what to use? I've been tying some simple stuff like Clousers, and various bead head nymphs, but any more specific tips would be much appreciated.
[signature]
All I have ever used for Crappie is Haresears and Bead Head Prince Nymph.
[signature]
I am no expert, but I have generally caught them on the regular wooly buggers, damsels, and hares ears etc. They really seem to like a lot of flash. White, yellow and touches of red seem to catch quite a few especially on bright days.
Good luck and enjoy being out. Let us know how you do.
[signature]
Thanks, I'll let you know how I do, it's still too early yet, but I'll post a report eventually....
[signature]
in my limited experience in fly fishing I have caught crappie on small poppers and most recently gills and other pan/sun fish on small (12) wolly worms, scuds, and red and green brassies... last summer my son in law and I had fun with small med sized hopper patterns that the smaller fish went nuts over before he caught a small lmb on it ... Id say if a crappie can handle a small popper maybe small hopper pattern will catch their attention as well..

MacFly [cool]
[signature]
Black Woolly Bugger was always good to my with crappies.
They dont fight very good but crappies are better then nothing [Smile]

Peter
[signature]
Sounds to me like it really doesn't matter what you use.